I vacillate on my feelings about zoos. Whether or not they are a good thing or ultimately cruel, so this isn’t a blog about those. It’s a quickie paste of an article I found while visiting an online classical station’s home page.

I have been bereaved to the point where I took no solace in things that gave me joy before. I’ve lay in bed feeling like the weight of the world was on top of the covers and I wanted to do was to be left the fuck alone. I can also say that music (and other things) elevated me back to a head space of serenity or at the very least to be able to cope. And for some reason the image of an elephant transfixed by music made me cry and I don’t know why.

No, that’s a lie. I know why. I’m a sucker for the animal story, they just get to me. It’s also because I read about elephants and their grief a while back when I was randomly having one of my stream-of-consciousness Netsurfing days …

and yes, they happen often …

anyway, enjoy the article and remember how healing music can be. How pieces of music can bring me to complete silence by its artistry, drum up visions of creative daydream, give me shortness of breath joy, make the tears flow quickly, imbue me with energy and glee, make me want to dance until I can no longer dance, or instill in me an unfathomable longing when I close my eyes and let go …


Mozart can ease Suma‘s blues

Zagreb – Suma, a 45-year-old elephant and long-time resident of the Zagreb Zoo, was bereaved and inconsolable after her pachyderm partner of 10 years died of cancer – until she heard Mozart.

“Suma became very depressed after her room-mate Patna died in early May,” the head of the Zagreb Zoo, Mladen Anic, told reporters on Thursday.

“She was refusing to eat, became uncommunicative, showed all the signs of a serious depression.”

Then, by sheer accident, Suma’s keepers discovered that the healing power of Mozart extends to the animal kingdom too.

Earlier this month, the zoo the zoo organised a concert of classical music just opposite Suma’s dwelling, Anic explained.

At the sight of five musicians preparing themselves to start a concert, Suma became very nervous and aggressive, peppering the intruders with little stones that she blew out of her trunk.

“But as soon as the concert started what we saw was really fascinating. Suma leaned against the fence, closed her eyes and listened without moving the entire concert,” he said. Besides Mozart, she took in pieces by Vivaldi and Schubert too.

When zoo authorities realised that classical music seemed to help Suma cope with her grief, they bought a stereo and installed it so she could get a daily dose of music therapy.

The elephant especially adores Mozart, Anic said, but is also partial to the strains of Vivaldi and Bach.

“We are so glad that we can provide – at what is a rather advanced age for elephants – things that Suma really enjoys,” Anic said. – Sapa-AFP

Published on the Web by IOL on 2006-06-29 23:29:27
© Independent Online 2005. All rights reserved. IOL publishes this article in good faith but is not liable for any loss or damage caused by reliance on the information it contains.

Seeya on the flip side 😉
– GermanCityMusicLovingGirl

Currently listening to the soundtrack to Master and Commander.

Meal: Happily digesting Mongolian Beef + steamed rice.

