My day has been wonderfully productive thus far. After a scramble-for-the-phone-what-in-the-hell-time-is-it call from Lowe’s, I went downtown to take care of some moving business. I registered the car in my new county of residence, switched plates, and obtained new tags. I figured since I was awakened in an untimely manner, I may as well get some shit done. Officially my car is nicely legal now in the state of WA and quite glad to be through with those other plates from that foreign state. I drove around AZ with TX plates for over 2 years, I just could never be arsed to get them changed. I’m on the fence about the vanity plates. It’s not much more but I could plan that bank heist with easily remembered plates, now could I?

Returning home from my downtown adventure in licensing, I took one of those random shots from behind the wheel. To be honest, I should probably stop doing that sort of thing while I’m driving because I’d hate to end up in Lake Union or something just because I needed to get that elusively cool picture. Anyway, it’s an older Pepsi neon sign that looks groovy at night all lit up and retro. I should research to see how old it is …

I just noticed that as I was posting this blog, I didn’t photo-fix the glass reflection. Oh well, I’ll leave it as the wabi of the shot. At a stoplight beside the Evergreen-Washelli cemetery that I visited last week, I looked over and snapped this photo of a local bus stop. Each one that I’ve seen has had different artwork and I love the etched glass with metalwork of the waves above. I wish the one by our home was nicer thematically but I won’t complain, it makes a good marker for people coming to the house for the first time. On my way home, I decided to stop at one of our local greengrocers to see what they had for sale. Their produce was invitingly fresh and not overly waxed. I have to stop by now and again to see what they have more often because their hothouse tomatoes and cucumbers were absolutely gorgeous! I need to pick up some feta and then I can make a really good salad with the red onions, Romaine, and kalamatas at home. Oh yeah, there’s also a small container of fresh blueberries that I’m looking forward to enjoying as well in the morning, if they last that long!

My last stop was for something cool to drink and I decided to check out this place, not far from home. I learned it was really simple. You drive up and turn on your headlights for service. A waitress will come out to take your order, you can eat it there or take it away and you pay her when she brings your food. It’s like an old school drive-in burger joint (like Sonic) but with much better food, I’ve read. Maybe we’ll check out the burgers or their onion rings, they’re known for both. The waitress who brought me my soda was from Texas and we chatted for about five minutes about Seattle versus the Gulf Coast. It was nice to talk to someone who understood why WA = πŸ™‚ and TX = 😦 … oh yeah, here’s a shot of their menu. The burgers smelled good as I sat there talking to her so maybe we might check that out the next time we crave cow. Invigorated by my blackberry lemonade, I decided to make one more pit stop before heading home. My car, nicely dusty from the weather, sorely needed a bath. I decided on this place because their mascot is too cute.

In Houston, we washed our car once at a place called “Weasel Wash” … don’t ask me why anyone would want to name their car wash that but I guess if one had a dirty weasel. The alliteration works and the jokes are plenty but still, an odd moniker.

I’m back home now enjoying some freshly made guacamole (thanks Top Banana for the produce)! I forgot to swing by Central to get some feta so chips + guacamole seemed more like the order of the afternoon when I saw all the Hispanic-themed displays on the drive home. It’s the first time I’ve not lived in a border state to Mexico on Cinco de Mayo … it’s not such a big deal here. Maybe it is, but not so far as I can see …

Anyway, I’m waiting for the arborist to come by to assess our trees. I’m watching one of my favourite old movies from the 40s while I wait: Gilda. It’s such a fantastic slice of film-noir that I highly recommend it if you’ve never seen it. The sexual heat between Ford and Hayworth crackles and she was never lovelier than in this movie. I read a trivia bit that she slapped him so hard in one of their scenes together that she broke one of his teeth. Because they were far more hardcore back then, he kept the scene going and did not cut. Crazy, eh? I really liked Hayworth in The Lady from Shanghai but I’m a sucker for Welles in anything. I can sit and watch movies like these for hours and hours, taking breaks only to stretch and refuel! It’s such a comforting feeling that I can’t explain … I just like it.

My library is right down the street. I learned when getting my new card that one can check out up to 100 titles at a time! I can gorge on classic cinema and use our Netflix slots for more modern offerings! Now how sweet is that?!? Side note here, my grandfather on my father’s side was a dead ringer for Glenn Ford even as he aged. My father’s uncle (would that make him my great-uncle? anyway), looked like Spencer Tracy right down to the way he wore his hair. They just don’t make people like that anymore, you know? I’m being distracted by Ford and Macready’s conversation! So I think I’ll leave you with some pictures and get back to my film …

I googled and found an absolutely amazing site on Rita Hayworth from which I shamefully borrowed the photos below …

“Disaster to the wench who did wrong by our Johnny.”

Classic.

Seeya on the flip side πŸ˜‰
– GermanCityGirl who is hoping for a friendly yet knowledgeable arborist who is honest to boot …

Currently watching: Gilda.

Meal: Guacamole made with garlic silvers, red onion, hothouse tomatoes, + plenty of lime for kick … enjoyed with baked organic chips.

