Today was a good day – full of sunshine and progress …

(somewhere else in the world).

Okay, the truth might be stretched a bit there. There was some sunshine and some progress, I think I unpacked about ten boxes so that counts for something, right? I started the morning by going to the market for some supplies. I used their newfangled bread slicer (picture to follow the next time I go) to slice some fresh peasant’s bread for GC. You take your loaf of whole bread, place it into the box, set the thickness of the bread, and marvel at the speed of electric slicing. I splurged on some Italian provolone and some dry salami for sandwiches with fresh basil for GC. I chose to have the bread with a side of virgin olive oil, seasoned for dipping. I did a nice Caprese salad for me with fresh mozzarella, sliced roma tomatoes, basil, + more olive oil. It was yumtastic. We capped off the meal with some frosty Thomas Kemper root beer purchased at the market’s substantial drink aisle. I found out from one of their stockers that I should always ask if they have more in the back because they usually have drink brand X hiding out unless they are doing some clearance thing … it’s not the Pop Shop, but it’ll do.

I got sidetracked by a phone call while I was shopping or else there would have been pictures of the produce department and the wonderful bakery/bread area. Next time, I promise, although the shoppers did look at me weirdly when I was snapping the few photos I did take.

Other than trying to organise the kitchen into a more manageable beast and after GC has struggled with STOLMEN in the guest bedroom closet, we decided to have a low key meal at Black Pearl to indulge in some cold pork with some hot mustard, toasted sesame seeds, and a spicy sauce that photographed like ketchup! I now why food photographers get paid so high … food’s a bitch to capture properly. We also ordered some of their house specialty noodles that are made daily in-house and freshly cut. It might not look appetizing but the veggies (broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, and onions) are the perfect crunch and the meats (chicken, shrimp, and beef) are lean and nicely bite-sized. It is more than enough for two people because the noodles are so hearty, like fettucine on steroids … we learned our lesson that unless we have a third person – we’ll stick with one entree and one appetizer at this restaurant or run the risk of over-eating.

Relaxing in bed, I’m wanting to hear everything on CD that is still packed. You’d think that would provide incentive to unpack. Ha! It just makes me listen to the stuff on our iTunes like various songs and overseas radio stations. Which brings me to my next stream of consciousness point: I always get this wave of nostalgia when I listen to older music. Johnny’s stuff or Patsy Cline or Big Maybelle. Maybe it’s because music like this is not made anymore or because people don’t know who these artists are or because I wonder what it must have been like to have no CDs, no cassette tapes … only vinyl recordings of your favourite singer and how expensive they were in relation to what people could afford.

Anyway, to commemorate the song cycling through iTunes, I wanted to end this entry, as boring as it was, with some lyrics to a song that I love. It’s a little ditty by Johnny Mercer called “Strip Polka.”

“There’s a burlesque theatre where the gang loves to go
To see Queenie the cutie of the burlesque show
And the thrill of the evening is when out Queenie skips
And the band plays the polka while she strips

“Take it off,” “Take it off” Cries a voice from the rear
“Take it off,” Take it off” Soon it’s all you can hear
But she’s always a lady even in pantomime
So she stops! And always just in time

She’s as fresh and as wholesome as the flowers in May
And she hopes to retire to the farm someday
But you can’t buy a farm until you’re up in the chips
So the band plays the polka while she strips

“Take it off,” “Take it off” all the customers shout,
“Down in front” “Down in front” while the band beats it out
But she’s always a lady even in pantomime
So she stops! And always just in time

Queenie, Queen of them all
Queenie, someday you’ll fall
Someday church bells will chime
In strip polka time

Oh! She hates corny waltzes and she hates the gavotte
And there’s one big advantage if the music’s hot
It’s a fast moving exit just in case something rips
So the band plays the polka while she strips

Drop around, take it in, it’s the best in the west
“Take it off,” “Take it off,” “Take it off” you can yell like the rest
Take her out when it’s over, she’s a peach when she’s dressed
But she stops! And always just in time

Queenie, Queen of them all
Queenie, someday you’ll fall
Someday church bells will chime
In strip polka time.”

Anyway, the song never fails to make me sing along, like most of Mercer’s stuff. And if you’ve never heard of the man or of the others I mentioned? Google for Pete’s sake!

Seeya on the flip side, back in baby’s arms 😉
– GermanCity’s Girl

Currently listening: Capitol Collectors Series by Johnny Mercer.

Meal: Pork + noodle goodness.

