You Are a Caramel Crunch Donut

You’re a complex creature, and you’re guilty of complicating things for fun.
You’ve been known to sit around pondering the meaning of life…
Or at times, pondering the meaning of your doughnut.
To frost or not to frost? To fill or not to fill? These are your eternal questions.

I have some random bits o’ thoughtiness that I need to paste over here and oh yeah, thanks for the silly test, Lost! I can sleep easier knowing my true doughy nature.

When I saw that silly quiz, I immediately heard Eddie Izzard’s doughnut ramble, which I am faithfully pasting here courtesy of Auntie Momo. Thanks Auntie 🙂


“But back in the 60s, though, back in the 60s, President Kennedy became the President of the United States of America, and he we went to Berlin, stood on the Berlin wall and he said, “People of Berlin …” (hearty American accent) ”People of Berlin.” I can’t do an impression of President Kennedy, so this is … “People of Berlin. Amy dumped …” No, James Mason playing him … (imitates Mason) “People of Berlin, I have come to you to tell you something about the American states. I sound a bit like God, don’t I? Yes. But I have come to say to you that every free citizen of the world is a citizen of Berlin. And I wish to say to you, ‘Ich bin ein Berliner.’ ” And the crowd went fucking wild!

Trouble is, “Ich bin ein Berliner” means “I am a donut,” and … This is true, and this is what he said, he said “I am a donut!” And, as I say, 70% of how you look, 20% of how you sound, only 10% is what you say. He said “I am a donut” and they went wild! Because “Ich bin Berliner” is “I am a Berliner.” But “Ich bin ein Berliner,” is – that’s the name of a donut they have there. And it’s like going to Frankfurt:

“I am a Frankfurter!”

“Yeah, we’ve heard about that one, Jackie.”

Hamburg – “I am a Hamburger, too!” Lucky he didn’t do a tour of Germany, eh? “I am a Hamburger, a Frankfurter, and a donut.” But the people in Berlin must’ve gone, “What did he say?”

“He said he was a donut!”

“I thought he said he was a donut too!”

“So what does that mean?”

“It’s a slang! It’s American! He’s a donut! He’s a fucking donut. Fucking donut, a fucking donut, a fucking donut. He’s a fucking donut. I think that’s what it must mean.”

“What do you think, Dr. Heimlich?”

“Huh? (coughing throughout) I don’t … I don’t know, I have swallowed a football and I can’t get it out. Can you perform my maneuver on me, the me maneuver?”

“Huh?”

“Hilda, Hilda, get me a map of everything.”


See you on the flip side, covered in caramel crunchy goodness 😉
– GermanCityGirl

Currently listening: Blue Bell Knoll by Cocteau Twins.

